Sunday, May 16, 2010

Non-NHL Awards Part 1

The Sidney Crosby Award:

The Sidney Crosby is awarded annually to the league's most controversial and/or polarizing figure by the amateur hockey bloggers named Red Army Line.

The winner: Alex Ovechkin!

Ovechkin had another controversial season. Aside from his normal goal-scoring, prolific shooting, and Penguins fan hate, he was involved in three controversial hits. He got a boarding major and game misconduct on a hit on Buffalo's Patrick Kaleta, a play some people still think wasn't manufactured by Kaleta. He also had a kneeing incident with Carolina's Tim Gleason that earned Ovechkin a two-game suspension. Finally, he broke Brian Campbell's collarbone on this hit, earning himself a second two-game suspension.

Ovechkin also fell flat (along with the rest of Team Russia) at the Olympics (and pushed an amateur reporter away from an interview), then lost to Montreal in the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals after notoriously calling out Jaroslav Halak's shaking hand. Ovechkin this season will not even receive the consolation of a guaranteed award, as Steven Stamkos and Sidney Crosby won the Richard, Henrik Sedin the Ross, and likely one of the latter two for each of the Hart and Lindsay (formerly Pearson).


Chris Pronger--Pronger reportedly caused locker room issues in Philadelphia, a pre-season Stanley Cup favorite.

Sidney Crosby--no explanation needed here, if you've followed hockey at any time over the last six years or so.

Past winners: none

No comments:

Post a Comment